Up in the Gallery

In the letter to his wife
he wrote only three words
but he was far to late
Up in the gallery 
where he watched the trial run
he saw her face collapse
though he was peering as he should
he felt guilt for what he had seen 
for she was no mans’s wife
and not his to laugh at
but around him cackles encased the room
heckling volunteers threw stones
in the she shape of words
callousing her prim face
whore
but Men you see 
are an odd subject
for had she lain in  any of their beds
the would cower in utter silence
But every man up in the gallery
is guiltily free
for their crimes behind closed doors
have not been caught
so they terrorize 
with senseless pride 
the beautiful woman 
who is not their own whore
Every man but one
for before him
is his lover
so he doesn’t heckle
nor laugh 
nor say a word at all for he knows that he too
should be sitting with her
In the letter to his wife
he wrote only three words
I love you
but he was far too late
For his wife
in their home
had found a bundle of letters
not addressed to her.
but a addressed to a woman
with a newly bound fate

 

 

 

 

 

 

Love is such an odd subject, isn’t it. Sometimes we are bound to people who are trailing behind others. How upsetting. In fact I am sure that I based this poem off some odd dream that i had that involved Ben Affleck in the film Gone Girl. I also drew inspiration from the scene of To Kill a Mockingbird where they watch Atticus from the balcony. The whole idea of the poem I wrote is this otherworldly figure who is able to be in two places at once. Who sees the woman who breaks as she learns of her husbands faults and the husband who miles away breaks with guilt as his lover, is acquitted for love. He watches from the gallery, like an onlooker, just  as the narrator of the poem watches him and his wife.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 Thoughts.

  1. Dear Pragya,
    This is a beautiful piece with a wonderful message within it. I truly heard your voice throughout this piece and I’m glad I read it. I love your view and understanding of love for I did not look at love this way.

    This piece is so good that it is hard to give feedback to; however, I would suggest to find ways to make each line flow better to help carry your ideas throughout the writing.

    I had a pleasure reading your writing for it is beautiful. Keep up the great work, can’t wait to read more.

    Love always,
    Elena

    • Dear Elena,

      I am so grateful you came by to read my work. I am glad you liked it. I will be looking into ways to make it sound more smooth. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar